Expertise and research topics

  • DATA COLLECTION AND TRANSMISSION :

From the development of electronic sensors and micro-power communication systems to the physical transmission of resulting signals (notably via optical fibre), and the analysis, design and modelling of Internet routing architectures and services, the entire course of data is the subject of advanced research at the institute.

  • BIG DATA AND CLOUD COMPUTING :

The storage of a mass of information of varied quality and the use of treatments requiring very high performances is central to the Institute’s research. As such, it has a particular research activity in the field of parallel and distributed computing, as well as in the structuring of large and/or distributed databases and the processing of difficult-to-interpret data.

  • DATA MINING :

This theme focuses on the processing and analysis of large quantities of data and is based mainly on the development of algorithms for optimisation, classification, prediction, collaborative recommendation and multicriteria decision support, especially in the field of logistics.

  • SOFTWARE AND ALGORITHMIC ENGINEERING :

This theme focuses on the development of techniques for the verification and analysis of software quality, the modelling of software systems and the implementation of complex algorithms in graph theory.

  • SIGNAL PROCESSING :

The institute specialises in the processing and analysis of audio, visual and multimedia signals, and covers many fields of application, such as creative technologies (in collaboration with the Numediart Institute), logistics and medical imaging.

  • EDUCATION TECHNOLOGIES :

This theme aims to develop research projects at the Faculty of Psychology, relating to the integration of ICT in education and the analysis of their impact (educational devices and technologies, system design and training plans, educational policy analysis, evaluation of learning and systems, etc.).

Note that a new leading research axis of the Institute is the Internet of Things (IoT), or a world of smart and connected objects, leading to a rich interaction between the various aforementioned themes.

Expertises et thématiques

  • Collecte et transmission de données :

Tout le parcours de la donnée, du développement de capteurs électroniques et de systèmes de communication micro-puissance à la transmission physique des signaux résultants en passant par l’analyse, le design et la modélisation des architectures et services de routage internet.

  • Big data et Cloud computing :

Le stockage d’une masse d’information de niveau de qualité varié et le recours à des traitements nécessitant de très hautes performances est une problématique centrale de l’institut. A ce titre, il dispose notamment d’une activité de recherche pointue dans le domaine de l’informatique parallèle et distribuée ainsi que dans la structuration de bases de données volumineuses et/ou distribuées et le traitement de données bruitées.

  • Data mining :

Traitement et analyse de grandes quantités de données reposant principalement sur le développement d’algorithmes d’optimisation, de classification, de prédiction, de recommandation collaborative et d’aide à la décision multicritère (notamment dans le domaine de la logistique).

  • Génie logiciel et algorithmique :

Développement de techniques permettant la vérification et l’analyse de la qualité logicielle, la modélisation de systèmes logiciels ainsi que l’implémentation d’algorithmes complexes, notamment en théorie des graphes.

  • Traitement du signal :

Traitement et analyse de signaux, qu’ils soient sonores, visuels ou multimédia, dans de nombreux domaines d’applications tels que les technologies créatives (en collaboration avec l’institut Numédiart), la logistique ou l’imagerie médicale.

  • Technologies de l’éducation :

Intégration des TIC dans l’éducation et analyse de leur impact (développement de dispositifs éducatifs par et pour les technologies, conception de systèmes et plans de formation, analyse des politiques éducatives, évaluation des apprentissages et des systèmes, etc). Notons qu’un nouvel axe phare de l’institut est l’internet des objets (IoT), ou monde des objets intelligents et connectés qui permet une interaction riche entre les différentes thématiques précitées.