Research at UMONS is carried out by more than 900 researchers in some 100 departments within 10 research institutes, all of which is supported by the Department for Research Support and Technology Transfer.

Each institute brings together the skills of experienced researchers, post-docs and PhD students from several UMONS faculties. They concentrate their efforts on combining themes covering the three main fields of research, namely life sciences and health, science and technology, and human and social sciences, all of which respond to proven societal needs. In working for the UMONS Institutes, our researchers are provided with increased visibility among international organisations and donors.

The strength of the UMONS Research Institutes lies in the multidisciplinary nature of their teams (a research and/or teaching unit may be associated with one or maximum two research institutes) and the flexibility of their organisation. At the same time, UMONS recently launched the label “UMONS Innovation Center” which highlights the close collaboration with its associated research centres, such as Materia Nova and Multitel, which are located in the Initialis Science Park of Mons. With all the spin-offs created in recent years, UMONS is actively involved in the development of its region.
Through its quality research and excellence, UMONS is a nationally and internationally recognised institution.

The growing number of publications in referenced scientific journals, as well as citations in international scientific publications, has recently led to the university being ranked among the best universities in international rankings. We must mention the European Union U-Multirank ranking system, according to which UMONS ranks 41st in the world for its scientific publications in international partnerships. In the QS World University Ranking, UMONS is among the Top 150 for the number of international citations. Since 2018, UMONS has also been included in the famous Shanghai University Ranking. In fields such as science and materials engineering, chemistry and physics, it ranks UMONS as one of the best Belgian universities.

La recherche à l’UMONS s’appuie sur quelque 900 chercheurs répartis dans une centaine de services. Elle est structurée en 10 instituts de recherche, accompagnés par une Direction de l’Administration et de la Valorisation de la Recherche.

Chaque institut rassemble les compétences de chercheurs confirmés, post-docs ou doctorants, issus de plusieurs Facultés de l’UMONS. Ils concentrent leurs efforts autour de thématiques fédératrices dont les sciences de la vie et de la santé, les sciences et technologies et les sciences humaines et sociales, répondant ainsi à des besoins sociétaux avérés et leur assurant une visibilité accrue auprès des organismes et bailleurs de fonds internationaux.

La force des Instituts de recherche de l’UMONS réside dans la multidisciplinarité de leurs équipes (un service peut être associé à un ou maximum deux instituts de recherche) et la flexibilité de leur organisation. Parallèlement, l’UMONS a récemment lancé le label « UMONS Innovation Center » permettant de mettre en avant le partenariat étroit que l’Université entretient avec les centres de recherche agréés tels que Materia Nova et Multitel implantés dans le Parc scientifique Initialis de Mons. Avec l’ensemble des Spin-offs créées ces dernières années, l’UMONS développe ainsi un écosystème d’innovation activement impliqué dans le développement de sa région.

Grâce à la recherche de qualité et d’excellence qu’elle développe, l’UMONS est reconnue au niveau national et international. Le nombre croissant de ses publications dans des revues scientifiques référencées ainsi que de citations dans des publications scientifiques internationales lui valent d’être classée parmi les meilleures universités dans des classements internationaux. Citons le classement U-Multirank de l’Union européenne où l’UMONS figure à la 41ème place mondiale pour ses publications scientifiques en partenariat international. Au niveau du QS World University Ranking, l’UMONS intègre le Top 150 pour le nombre de citations internationales. Depuis 2018, l’UMONS est repris dans le fameux Shanghai University Ranking ; dans des domaines tels que la science et l’ingénierie des matériaux, la chimie et la physique, l’UMONS y apparait parmi les meilleures universités belges.

L’Institut de Recherche en Sciences et Technologies du Langage (IRSTL) dispense également des Masters de spécialisation en Sciences du Langage, destiné à des diplômés de 2e cycle.