Joint Belgian hep-th seminars

A longstanding Belgian tradition has been the organisation of weekly seminars in high-energy theoretical physics that aim to bring together research groups from various institutes in the country. Originally held by ULB and VUB in Brussels together with KU Leuven, with Mons and Ghent joining, respectively, in 2009 and 2023, the current set of participating institutions is given by

The seminars take place on most Wednesdays of the academic year, with the location varying among the aforementioned institutions, while speakers are invited from both inland and abroad.


10:30 – 11:30 first talk
11:30 – 12:00 coffee break
12:00 – 13:00 second talk
13:00 – 14:00 lunch

Upcoming seminars

Past seminars

Useful information for speakers

Each seminar lasts about one hour, which should approximately consist in 50 minutes of talk, followed by 10 minutes of questions and discussion. The audience comprises the participating institutions’ professors, postdocs and students, who work on a wide range of topics in high-energy theory, from (super)gravity and cosmology to string theory and higher spins. A pedagogical introduction is, therefore, very much encouraged.


1 February 2023

Special event : BEL lectures by Axel Kleinschmidt (Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics, Potsdam).

  • String scattering old and new I
  • String scattering old and new II


30 November 2022

  • Oliver Schlotterer (Uppsala University) | Modular graph forms and iterated integrals in string amplitudes
  • Manus Visser (University of Cambridge) | Thermodynamic ensembles for de Sitter space and other causal diamonds


26 October 2022

  • Ricardo Monteiro (Queen Mary University of London) | Celestial chiral algebras, colour-kinematics duality and integrability
  • Ashish Shukla (CPHT Palaiseau) | Bounds on gravitational brane couplings and tomography in AdS3 black hole geometries
  • Piotr Tourkine (CNRS & LAPTh, Annecy, France)
  • Boris Pioline (CNRS & LPTHE, Sorbonne University, France)
  • Ivano Basile (ASC Munich, Germany)
  • Oliver Schlotterer (Uppsala University, Sweden)
  • Ioannis Tsiares (IPhT, France)
  • Renann Lipinski Jusinskas (ASCR Prague, Czech Republic)
  • Ricardo Monteiro (Queen Mary University of London, UK)


Organisers on behalf of UMONS:

Thomas Basile (
Chrysoula Markou (