Higher Education in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation

There are 4 types of higher education institutions in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation:

  • Universities
  • Hautes Ecoles
  • Art schools
  • Continuing education institutions.

Universities are higher education institutions that offer Bachelor’s, Master’s and PhD degrees, which correspond to three study cycles. Each cycle is sanctioned by the awarding of a degree, which is necessary for admission onto the next cycle.


The Academy for Research and Higher Education (ARES) unites the higher education institutions of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation. Its role is to ensure the overall coordination of their activities and to encourage them to develop collaborations. One of its missions is to provide objective information on higher education, qualifications and professions.

The Pôle hainuyer groups together all the higher education institutions in the province of Hainaut, with all forms of education and all networks combined (Universities, Hautes Ecoles, art schools and continuing education institutions). Through its 35 partner institutions in Hainaut, the Pôle hainuyer offers nearly 600 initial and continuing education courses (from Bachelor’s to PhD) covering 21 study domains.