Research Institute for Complex Systems

The COMPLEXYS Institute has developed expertise in the modelling and simulation of complex systems, such as biological, physical and economic systems, thanks to new mathematical models and dedicated software. Their success is due to the collaboration between computer scientists, mathematicians, and other experts.

Complex systems, such as the brain, the economic market and natural ecosystems, are made up of many interacting entities. Nevertheless, the overall behaviour of such systems cannot be predicted by studying its individual parts; everything is connected and global properties emerge from the many interactions between these parts.

The study of complex systems has developed considerably since the 20th century thanks to the many discoveries and developments in biology, chemistry, physics, and because of dramatic increases in computing resources.

The fact that the diversity of complex systems requires interdisciplinary research led to the creation of the COMPLEXYS Institute.

In addition to advances in nonlinear physics, the development of mathematical tools and advances in computer science since World War II have provided the resources necessary to study these phenomena. The techniques used by COMPLEXYS are at the forefront of the analysis, modelling and simulation of numerous complex systems in mathematics, engineering sciences, natural sciences and human and social sciences.

Contact person

Pr. Thomas BRIHAYE
Pr. Thomas BRIHAYE

Some numbers

  • 85
  • 30
    PhD Students
  • 250
    Publications per year
  • 30
    Current projects

Institut de recherche en Systèmes Complexes de l'UMONS

L’Institut COMPLEXYS a développé une expertise en modélisation et simulation de systèmes complexes tels que les systèmes biologiques, physiques et économiques grâce à de nouveaux modèles mathématiques et des logiciels dédicacés. Leur succès repose sur la collaboration d’informaticiens, de mathématiciens, et de spécialistes des Sciences étudiées.

Les systèmes complexes sont des systèmes constitués d’un grand nombre d’entités interagissant localement. Comme exemples, on peut citer le cerveau, le marché économique, les écosystèmes écologiques. Cependant, le comportement global d’un tel système ne peut pas être prédit en étudiant ses parties de manière isolée: tout est lié et des propriétés globales émergent des interactions locales.

L’étude des systèmes complexes s’est considérablement développée au cours du 19ème et du 20ème siècles, grâce aux nombreuses découvertes réalisées en biologie, chimie et physique.

Cette diversité des systèmes complexes exige une étude interdisciplinaire, motivation de la création de l’Institut COMPLEXYS.

En plus de la physique non linéaire, le développement des outils mathématiques et l’essor de l’informatique à la suite de la seconde guerre mondiale fournissent actuellement les ressources indispensables pour étudier ces phénomènes. Ces techniques sont désormais à la pointe de l’analyse, de la modélisation et de la simulation de nombreux systèmes complexes en sciences exactes, sciences de l’ingénieur, sciences de la vie et sciences humaines et sociales.

Personne de contact

Pr. Thomas BRIHAYE
Pr. Thomas BRIHAYE
+32(0)65373824

Quelques chiffres

  • 85
    Chercheurs
  • 30
    Doctorants
  • 250
    Publications par an
  • 30
    Projets en cours