UMONS Reseearch Institute for Materials Science and Engineering

The MATERIALS Institute brings together chemists, physicists and engineers, who collaborate to develop intelligent multifunctional materials and coatings. From the design stage through determining the materials’ use and recycling, the institute’s work is geared towards meeting the needs of industrialists and the challenges of our society.

The MATERIALS Institute's research activities cover a wide range of materials (metals and metal alloys, polymers, inorganic materials, organic-inorganic hybrids, biomaterials), synthesis and implementation methods (hydrothermal synthesis, sol-gel, plasma deposition, electrochemical deposition, reactive extrusion, etc.), characterisation (physicochemical, mechanical, morphological) and applications (packaging, transport, biomedical devices, electronic devices, energy collection and storage, aerospace, etc.).

The Institute’s research areas focus on two main areas, integrating the design, modelling, synthesis, characterisation and implementation of:

  • Hybrid and (bio-)polymer materials: precursors synthesised from biosourced raw materials are used to produce materials with specific functionalities, such as electroluminescence, shape memory and self-healing.
  • Coating and surface treatments: materials and processes developed to increase the durability of metallic coatings (adhesion, resistance to corrosion and wear) and give them multiple functionalities (antibacterial, anti-trace, self-healing, superhydrophobic, etc.)

Contact person

Pr. Michel VOUE
+32(0)65373401

Some numbers

  • 125
    Researchers
  • 75
    PhD Students
  • 200
    Publications per year
  • 60
    Current projects

Institut de recherche en Sciences et Ingénierie des Matériaux de l'UMONS

L’Institut MATERIAUX de l’UMONS rassemble des chercheurs chimistes, physiciens et ingénieurs qui collaborent à développer, depuis leur conception jusqu’à leur utilisation et leur recyclage, des matériaux et revêtements multifonctionnels intelligents répondant aux exigences des industriels et aux défis de notre société.

Les activités de recherche de l’Institut Matériaux couvrent un large éventail de matériaux (métaux et alliages métalliques, polymères, matériaux inorganiques, hybrides organiques-inorganiques, biomatériaux), de méthodes de synthèse et de mise en œuvre (synthèse hydrothermale, sol-gel, dépôt par plasma, dépôt électrochimique, extrusion réactive, etc.), de caractérisation (physico-chimique, mécanique, morphologique) et d’applications (emballage, transports, dispositifs biomédicaux, dispositifs électroniques, collecte et stockage d’énergie, aérospatial, etc.).

Les activités de recherche portent sur deux grands domaines, intégrant conception, modélisation, synthèse, caractérisation et mise en œuvre:

  • d’une part les matériaux (bio)polymères et hybrides. Ainsi, des précurseurs synthétisés au départ de matières premières biosourcées sont utilisés pour produire des matériaux dotés de fonctionnalités spécifiques telles que l’électroluminescence, la mémoire de forme, l’auto-cicatrisation.
  • d’autre part les revêtements et traitements de surface. Citons comme exemple des matériaux et procédés développés afin d’augmenter la durabilité de revêtements métalliques (adhésion, résistance à la corrosion et à l’usure) et leur conférer de multiples fonctionnalités (antibactérien, anti-trace, auto-cicatrisant, superhydrophobe, etc.).

Personne de contact

Pr. Roberto LAZZARONI
Pr. Roberto LAZZARONI
+32(0)65373824

Quelques chiffres

  • 125
    Chercheurs
  • 75
    Doctorants
  • 200
    Publications par an
  • 60
    Projets en cours