UMONS Research Institute for Health Sciences and Technology

The Research Institute for Health Sciences and Technology (Health Institute) combines 22 academic departments of UMONS, comprising more than 100 researchers, teachers and technicians whose research activities concern the health sector and, more specifically, focus on improving individual and public  health. This objective is reinforced by the establishment of collaborations with various operators in this sector.

Taking care of people’s physical and mental health is crucial in today’s society. Longer life expectancy, access to care, human development and well-being are challenges that we have to confront and manage.

In this context, scientific and technological development in the field of health requires greater coordination between all those concerned, (i.e. physicians, pharmacists, psychologists, biologists, managers, etc.).

The aim of the Health Institute is to provide an scientists working in the field of health with an interface, in order for them to understand its complexity in a transdisciplinary way.

Contact person

Pr. Bertrand BLANKERT
Pr. Bertrand BLANKERT
+32(0)65373592

Some numbers

  • 110
    Researchers
  • 70
    PhD Students
  • 300
    Publications per year
  • 50
    Current projects

Institut de recherche en Sciences et Technologies de la Santé de l'UMONS

L’institut SANTE rassemble les Services académiques de l’UMONS dont les activités de recherche concernent le secteur de la santé. Ces Services sont au nombre de 22 et regroupent plus de 100 chercheurs, enseignants et techniciens. Leur objectif commun est l’amélioration de la santé humaine, tant au plan individuel qu’au plan communautaire. Cet objectif est sous-tendu par l’établissement de collaborations avec des opérateurs divers de ce secteur.

La thématique des soins de santé (physiques et mentaux) est cruciale dans notre société d’aujourd’hui. L’allongement de l’espérance de vie, l’accessibilité aux soins, le développement humain, le bien-être sont autant de défis que nous avons à gérer.

Dans ce cadre, le développement scientifique et technologique dans le domaine de la Santé impose une articulation accrue entre les différents acteurs concernés (médecins, pharmaciens, psychologues, biologistes, gestionnaires, etc).

L’objectif de l’Institut Santé est d’offrir une interface aux scientifiques des différents domaines couverts dans le champ de la Santé, afin d’en appréhender au mieux sa complexité sur un mode transdisciplinaire.

Personne de contact

Pr. Bertrand BLANKERT
Pr. Bertrand BLANKERT
+32(0)65373592

Quelques chiffres

  • 110
    Chercheurs
  • 70
    Doctorants
  • 300
    Publications par an
  • 50
    Projets en cours