UMONS Research Institute for Language Science and Technology

The aim of the UMONS Research Institute for Language Science and Technology (LANGUAGE Institute) is to coordinate, promote and develop all aspects of language research beyond the boundaries traditionally associated with the academic and professional contexts that usually separate various domains of language expertise. As such, the Institute covers many domains of language, including literature, speech therapy, translation, medicine, signal processing and psycholinguistics.

The Institute aims to combine the efforts of all UMONS scientists, not only to develop research activities concerned with language, but also to address and develop scientific research in all domains by way of multi- and interdisciplinary collaborations.

The Institute’s research regards language as an “ability”, which individuals possess in order to communicate with others, and as a “system”, which, although originally resulting from communicative exchanges between people, is imposed on the speaker through their belonging to a community. Therefore, language can be considered as an object of study in itself, rather than just considering who is using it.

The Institute’s research aims to describe and understand language as well as develop methods and devices for language analysis, processing, simulation, modification, support, education and care.

Contact person

Pr. Bernard HARMEGNIES
Pr. Bernard HARMEGNIES
+32(0)65373145

Some numbers

  • 80
    Researchers
  • 35
    PhD Students
  • 200
    Publications per year
  • 20
    Current projects

They are our voices

Agenda & events

Soon

Institut de recherche en Sciences et Technologies du Langage de l'UMONS

L’Institut a pour objectif la coordination, la promotion et le développement de recherches centrées sur le langage dans tous ses aspects, par-delà les cloisonnements classiquement liés aux secteurs professionnels et académiques où œuvrent d’ordinaire séparément les divers spécialistes du langage (littérature, logopédie, traduction, philosophie, culture, sociologie, anthropologie, médecine, traitement du signal, psycholinguistique, etc.).

Il vise, par la mutualisation des efforts de toutes les composantes de l’UMONS ayant des activités scientifiques concernant à quelque titre que ce soit le langage, non seulement au développement scientifique de chacune de celles-ci dans son secteur propre, mais encore à l’émergence et à la consolidation de recherches en collaboration multi- et interdisciplinaire.

Il rassemble des entités et des personnes dont les travaux considèrent le langage tant comme faculté que possèdent les membres d’une communauté de communiquer entre eux, que comme système qui, bien que résultant certes des échanges communicatifs entre individus, est imposé au locuteur par son appartenance communautaire et peut dès lors être considéré comme l’objet d’étude en soi, sans visée individuelle.

Ses recherches peuvent viser tant à décrire et/ou comprendre le langage qu’à développer des méthodes et dispositifs permettant d’agir sur le langage dans des perspectives d’analyse, de traitement, de simulation, de modification, d’assistance, d’éducation, de soin, etc.

Personne de contact

Pr. Bernard HARMEGNIES
Pr. Bernard HARMEGNIES
+32(0)65373145

Quelques chiffres

  • 80
    Chercheurs
  • 35
    Doctorants
  • 200
    Publications par an
  • 20
    Projets en cours