Institute for New Media Art Technology

NUMEDIART’s mission is to provide training and research in the field of creative technologies. Created in 2010, it brings together around 75 researchers and benefits from internationally recognised expertise in the field of sound, image, video, gesture and bio-signal processing for applications where the human-machine interactions aim to create emotion.

NUMEDIART’s activities fall within the theme of Cultural and Creative Industries (ICC), representing 4.3% of EU GDP, and bringing together different markets associated with visual and performing arts, video games, music, cinema, architecture, and advertising. The integration of technology into these markets has grown in recent years, particularly due to the introduction of digital intelligence.

The institute also contributes to applied research and the creation of new activities in the creative industries sector by relying on the expertise of 13 research units in areas as diverse as audio and visual signal processing, electronics, architecture, computer science, and management. NUMEDIART has many collaborations in Europe and Canada with digital arts schools, the creative industries sector, and universities and research centres which focus their research in this domain.

Contact person

Pr. Thierry DUTOIT
Pr. Thierry DUTOIT
+32(0)65374774

Some numbers

  • 75
    Researchers
  • 25
    PhD Students
  • 100
    Publications per year
  • 20
    Current projects

Agenda & events

Soon

Institut de recherche pour les Technologies Créatives de l'UMONS

NUMEDIART est l’institut de recherche de l’UMONS qui a pour mission d’assurer des activités de formation et de recherche dans le domaine des technologies créatives. Créé en 2010, il rassemble près de 75 chercheurs et bénéficie une expertise reconnue au niveau international dans le domaine du traitement du son, de l’image, de la vidéo, des gestes et des bio-signaux pour les applications où l’interaction homme-machine vise à faire naître l’émotion.

L’activité de L’institut NUMEDIART s’inscrit dans la thématique des Industries Culturelles et Créatives (ICC), secteur représentant 4,3% du PIB de l’Union Européenne et rassemblant différents marchés liés aux arts visuels ou performatifs, le jeu vidéo, la musique, le cinéma, l’architecture et la publicité. L’intégration de la technologie dans ces marchés s’est fait grandissante ces dernières années, notamment grâce à l’avènement de l’intelligence numérique.

L’institut contribue par ailleurs à la recherche appliquée et à la création de nouvelles activités dans le secteur des industries créatives. Pour ce faire, il s’appuie sur l’expertise de 13 services de recherche dans des domaines aussi variés que le traitement du signal (sonore et visuel), l’électronique, l’architecture, l’informatique et le management. L’institut est également riche de nombreuses collaborations, avec les écoles en arts numériques, le secteur des industries de la création, et les universités et centres de recherche travaillant dans ce domaine, en Europe et au Canada.

Personne de contact

Pr. Thierry DUTOIT
Pr. Thierry DUTOIT
+32(0)65374774

Quelques chiffres

  • 75
    Chercheurs
  • 25
    Doctorants
  • 100
    Publications par an
  • 20
    Projets en cours

Agenda & événements

Bientôt