2nd Carroll Workshop

From 12 September 2022 to 16 September 2022
Campus Polytech - Bâtiment Houdain

Organized by

Nicolas Boulanger, Andrea Campoleoni and Yannick Herfray

A workshop on “Carrollian physics” took place at the University of Mons from the 12th to the 16th of September.

Carrollian physics? What is it?

Non-relativistic, or Galilean, physics can be obtained from Einstein’s theory of special relativity in the limit in which the speed of light tends to infinity. Carrollian space-times are obtained in the alternative limit in which the speed of light tends to zero. This limit, whose properties were studied for the first time by J.-M. Levy-Leblond in 1965, is quite disorienting from a physical point of view.

In fact, the physical laws thus obtained are so surprising (one could say so crazy) that J.-M. Levy-Leblond suggested naming them after Lewis Carroll: he pointed out that, like this new physics, Alice in Wonderland‘s adventures often seem to make fun of temporal causality.

The Carrollian limit may seem, at first sight, very difficult to justify physically. At a closer look, however, one realises that this limit arises in multiple contexts within the framework of general relativity: when we approach the singularity of the Big-Bang; when the cosmological constant in the AdS/CFT correspondence tends to zero; when one studies the physical processes taking place at the horizon of a black hole. These are all examples, among many others, of Carrollian limits.

It is therefore unsurprising that Carrollian physics has recently played a key role in several directions of research, including holographic and fluid/gravity correspondences, the study of asymptotically flat spacetimes at their null boundaries and the BMS symmetries associated with them, the study of the geometry of light-like hypersurfaces such as the horizons of black holes or the cosmological apparent horizons.

The main purpose of the CARROLL WORKSHOP is to gather people who are currently participating to this research endeavor. Anyone engaged in the fascinating Carrollian research effort is most welcome to join us to take this opportunity to share innovative ideas and perhaps create new collaborative motions.

Download the poster and the program! For more information, please visit also the workshop website!


  • Arjun BAGCHI (IIT Kanpur) | The unusual effectiveness of Carroll CFTs [slides]
  • Stefano BAIGUERA (Ben-Gurion U. of the Negev) | Conformal Carroll scalars with boosts [slides]
  • Xavier BEKAERT (U. Tours) | Higher-spin extensions of BMS algebra [slides]
  • Jan DE BOER (Uva Amsterdam) | Comment on Carroll Quantum Fields [blackboard talk]
  • Arnaud DELFANTE (UMONS) | Holographic Lorentz and Carroll Frames [slides]
  • Laura DONNAY (SISSA) | Gravitational S-matrix, celestial CFT and Carrollian holography [slides]
  • Sudipta DUTTA (IIT Kanpur) | Scattering Amplitudes: Celestial and Carrollian [slides]
  • José FIGUEROA-O’FARRILL (U. Edinburgh) | The many faces of Carroll/Galilei duality [slides]
  • Adrien FIORUCCI (TU Wien) | Hamiltonian Mechanics with external sources [slides]
  • Christophe GOELLER (LMU Munich) | BMS algebra in 3d and 4d BF theory [slides]
  • Jelle HARTONG (U. Edinburgh) | What is a Carroll fluid? [blackboard talk]
  • Leonhard KEHRBERGER (U. Cambridge) | The Case Against Smooth Null Infinity [slides]
  • Charles MARTEAU (U. British Columbia) | A Celestial Matrix Model [cancelled]
  • Lionel MASON (U. Oxford) | An open sigma model for celestial gravity [slides]
  • Kevin MORAND (Sogang U.) | Embedding Galilean and Carrollian geometries [slides]
  • Jean-Philippe NICOLAS (U. Brest) | Conformal scattering theory [slides]
  • Francisco PALOMO (U. Malaga) | Cartan geometries with model the lightlike cone [slides]
  • Noémie PARRINI (UMONS) | Homogenous super-Carrollian manifolds for the super Poincaré group [slides]
  • Simon PEKAR (UMONS) | Magnetic Carrollian gravity from the Carroll algebra [slides]
  • Romain RUZZICONI (TU Wien) | A Carrollian Perspective on Celestial Holography [slides]
  • Jakob SALZER (ULB Brussels) | An effective action for superrotation vacua at null infinity [slides]
  • Ali SERAJ (ULB Brussels) | Gyroscopic Gravitational Memory [blackboard talk]
  • Konstantinos SIAMPOS (National and Kapodistrian U. of Athens) | Aspects of Relativistic, Galilean and Carrollian fluids [slides]
  • Juan VALIENTE-KROON (Queen Mary U.) | BMS charges at the cylinder at spatial infinity [slides]
  • Matthieu VILATTE (CPHT – Ecole Polytechnique) | A revisit of the Carrollian scalar field [slides]
  • Wolfgang WIELAND (IQOQI Vienna) | Boundaries, dissipation and gravitational charge [slides]
  1. Martin AMMON | FSU Jena, Germany
  2. Glenn BARNICH | ULB Brussels, Belgium
  3. Arjun BAGCHI | IIT Kanpur, India
  4. Stefano BAIGUERA | Ben-Gurion U. of the Negev, Israel
  5. Ivano BASILE | UMONS, Belgium
  6. Thomas BASILE | UMONS, Belgium
  7. Xavier BEKAERT | U. Tours, France
  8. Jibril BEN ACHOUR | LMU Munich, Germany
  9. Nicolas BOULANGER | UMONS, Belgium
  10. Andrea CAMPOLEONI | UMONS, Belgium
  11. Luca CIAMBELLI | ULB Brussels, Belgium
  12. Jan DE BOER | UvA Amsterdam, Netherlands
  13. Arnaud DELFANTE | UMONS, Belgium
  14. Shailesh DHASMANA | UMONS, Belgium
  15. Laura DONNAY | SISSA, Italy
  16. Sudipta DUTTA | IIT Kanpur, India
  17. José FIGUEROA-O’FARRILL | U. Edinburgh, UK
  18. Adrien FIORUCCI | TU Wien, Austria
  19. Oscar FUENTEALBA | ULB Brussels, Belgium
  20. Marc GEILLER | CNRS – ENS de Lyon, France
  21. Christophe GOELLER | LMU Munich, Germany
  22. Daniel GRUMILLER | TU Wien, Austria
  23. Jelle HARTONG | U. Edinburgh, UK
  24. Emil HAVE | U. Edinburgh, UK
  25. Marc HENNEAUX | ULB Brussels, Belgium & Collège de France, France
  26. Yannick HERFRAY | U. Tours, France
  27. Ondřej HULIK | VUB Brussels, Belgium
  28. Leonhard KEHRBERGER | U. Cambridge, UK
  29. Jerzy LEWANDOWSKI | U. Warsaw, Poland
  30. Guillaume LHOST | UMONS, Belgium
  31. Songyuan LI | Aristotle U. of Thessaloniki, Greece
  32. Iva LOVREKOVIC | TU Wien, Austria
  33. Sucheta MAJUMDAR | ENS de Lyon, France
  34. Chrysoula MARKOU | UMONS, Belgium
  35. Charles MARTEAU | U. British Columbia, Canada
  36. Lionel MASON | U. Oxford, UK
  37. Lea MELE | UMONS, Belgium
  38. Kevin MORAND | Sogang U., South Korea
  39. Jean-Philippe NICOLAS | U. Brest, France
  40. Niels OBERS | Nordita, Sweden & Niels Bohr Institute, Denmark
  41. Gerben OLING | Nordita, Sweden
  42. Francisco PALOMO | U. Malaga, Spain
  43. Michel PANNIER | FSU Jena, Germany
  44. Noémie PARRINI | UMONS, Belgium
  45. Simon PEKAR | UMONS, Belgium
  46. Marios PETROPOULOS | CPHT – Ecole Polytechnique – CNRS, France
  47. Bruno PREMOSELLI | ULB Brussels, Belgium
  48. David RIVERA | CPHT – Ecole Polytechnique, France
  49. Romain RUZZICONI | TU Wien, Austria
  50. Jakob SALZER | ULB Brussels, Belgium
  51. Ali SERAJ | ULB Brussels, Belgium
  52. Mattia SERRANI | UMONS, Belgium
  53. Konstantinos SIAMPOS | National and Kapodistrian U. of Athens, Greece
  54. Vahid TAGHILOO | IASBS Zanjān, Iran
  55. Juan VALIENTE-KROON | Queen Mary U., UK
  56. Richard VAN DONGEN | UMONS, Belgium
  57. Stefan VANDOREN | Utrecht U., Netherlands
  59. Matthieu VILATTE | CPHT – Ecole Polytechnique, France
  60. Wolfgang WIELAND | IQOQI Vienna, Austria



Workshop supported by


Rue de Houdain, 9
7000 Mons, Belgium