Versatility and Varied professions

Translating and interpreting proficiency in all fields, at the highest level!

The Faculty of Translation and Interpretation aims to train translators and interpreters to perform a wide variety of tasks to a high standard. After five years of studies, graduates must be able to translate or interpret from a minimum of two languages into a third (mainly their mother tongue). Translators and interpreters have to be proficient in all fields, dealing with documentary sources and speeches by high-level specialists.

To reach this level of cultural and linguistic ability, it is vital for graduates to have a thorough knowledge of the subject to be translated, and the political, economic, sociological and intellectual worlds. Bachelor courses in general subjects play a key role in the future translator's training.

In order to attain these objectives, the students must acquire a perfect command of French, their mother tongue.
In Europe, translation and conference interpreting are taught at university. The perfect integration of the School of International Interpreters (EII) into UMONS constitutes a major asset for future translators who face an ever-changing world characterised by increasing mobility, and offers various new possibilities for international co-operation.

Contact person

Faculty secretary
17, Avenue du Champ de Mars
7000 Mons

Agenda & events

Polyvalence et Professions variées

Traduire et interpréter dans tous les domaines, jusqu’au plus haut niveau !

La Faculté de Traduction et d’Interprétation – EII assure la formation de traducteurs et d'interprètes. Son enseignement est très spécifique dans la mesure où ses diplômés doivent être capables, après cinq années d'études minimum, de traduire ou d'interpréter au moins à partir de deux langues vers une autre. Ceci dans tous les domaines et sur base de documents ou d’interventions qui sont souvent l'oeuvre de spécialistes de haut niveau.

Pour atteindre une telle compétence linguistique et culturelle au sens large, il est capital que les diplômés connaissent de façon approfondie la matière traduite, l'environnement politique, économique, sociologique et intellectuel. Les différents cours généraux sont donc essentiels et fondamentaux dans leur formation.

En outre, pour pouvoir rencontrer ces objectifs, les étudiants doivent acquérir une maîtrise parfaite de la langue de base, en l'occurrence le français.

En Europe, l'enseignement de la traduction et de l'interprétation est prodigué par des Facultés universitaires. En ce qui concerne l'E.I.I., sa parfaite intégration dans l'UMONS constitue un atout majeur dans un monde imprévisible à mobilité accélérée et ouvre diverses possibilités originales de coopération internationale.

Personne de contact

Secrétariat des études
17, Avenue du Champ de Mars
7000 Mons
+32(0)65373601

Ils sont nos voix

Agenda & événements

Bientôt